An Absolute Gentleman

The death of Davy Jones – lead singer of the Monkees was sad news to me this morning. As a young man I used to help out at an evening club for handicapped kids. There were those who would join in and those who were too nervous to dance and sing along. Two songs never failed to get them up. “Daydream Believer” and “I’m a Believer” conquered the inhibitions of the shyest kids.

Several years later I was a cop on the streets of South London. As a result of a traffic accident a short youngish guy with kind brown eyes found himself being interviewed by me. He was humble polite and charming. He told me about his work on American TV and his identity came to light. The traffic matter was fairly banal and in those days cops were not that fixated on motorists. I thanked him for for the music and he thanked me for my attention. There will be all manner of obituaries and the memories of  showbiz stars in the media. I just wanted to say my own tribute. He was an absolute gentleman.

A letter arrived at the poet’s cave advising me that it was about time I started to think about sheltered housing for the elderly. I filed it next to two letters from the Health Service inviting me to provide samples of unspeakable body products so that I can be screened. A glance at the Newspaper revealed separate articles revealing the two greatest threats to these Sceptred Isles. 1) We are living too long and they cannot afford us. 2) We are still drinking and smoking too much and dying too young. Sometimes I just do not know what to do for the best.

4 thoughts on “An Absolute Gentleman

  1. to davy, my english hanuman

    RIP DAVY JONES

    when you were a simple monkey
    asked to deliver a single bud,
    you brought a field of asian amber flush.
    your unbridled devotion
    thrust you to monkey god.

    now, you divinely intervene
    and bring me messages of him.

    i find him in a soup kitchen
    baking apple bread in a
    t-shirt depicting two quarreling
    monkeys captioned,
    “double talk.”

    he loves me and focuses on
    monkees rerun marathons
    late into the night preserving
    our chaste, intimate love.
    tonight’s virgin viewing is
    in your honor
    and cinematic eulogy,
    davy.

    humming your swanee river,
    i shiver with relief that
    my heart no longer attacks.

    thank you,
    for the anthem bouquets
    of my youth.

  2. Sad, indeed. I think both of my daughters had a crush on him in those early years. All we can do is live every day like there is no tomorrow. I’m sure Davy Jones did just that. He led a happy, fulfilled life and was a joy and inspiration to all who knew him.

  3. Davy and The Monkees were given such a bad rap (e.g. “The Pre-Fab Four”) but their music was happy and joyful and yes, it made people dance! As a shy 18-year-old, I went to stay on a kibbutz in Israel. Most of the other volunteers were older and more worldly; I didn’t have much to contribute to the late-night conversations. I did bring a cassette of The Monkees with me, however, and that proved to be the icebreaker of all icebreakers. Pub-going volunteers would come by my room to fetch me and make sure I was bringing The Monkees cassette. Everybody just wanted to dance. RIP to Davy, the music always lives on.

Leave a Reply

